Celebrating one year of Disaster Davis: Blogger Interview

If you’ve read my previous post ‘Celebrating one year of Disaster Davis!’ then you’ll be aware of my celebratory plans to mark the one year anniversary of this here blog, of which is to host a short blogger interview. I’ve been in contact with a couple of incredible ladies of whom have given me some absolutely remarkable answers. I’m sure you’ll agree that they’ve done themselves proud and therefore will enjoy today’s post as much as I have myself.


elisabeth

Blog
Twitter
Pinterest
Instagram
Facebook

1. Firstly, tell us a little about your blog and what inspired you to start blogging?
I am a beauty and subscription box blogger. I am also launching a coaching service that will connect other beauty bloggers to brands. I have worked with over 50 brands and love building brand relationships. I want to help other beauty bloggers connect to brands and form amazing relationships. We all love reviewing free products, right?

I enjoy reviewing and writing posts pertaining to anything beauty and subscription box related. I also have a private Facebook Group for Beauty and Fashion Bloggers. https://www.facebook.com/groups/beautiesonfire/. We are a support group and we have amazing discussions every week. A bunch of us also take part in a weekly blogger collab (Thursdays). We vote on a theme on Twitter to decide the winning theme. It is so much fun. You don’t have to take part in the collab to be part of the group. I would love for any beauty/fashion bloggers to join. We talk all things beauty/fashion and how to grow our online presence. We have such a blast!

My boyfriend and mom inspired me to start blogging. I have always wanted to start blogging but had no idea how to set up a blog. I have watched YouTube for years (pretty much since the beginning). I spent HOURS watching beauty gurus on YouTube. I didn’t really like filming and prefer to write so blogging was the way to go for me. My amazing boyfriend set up my site and I have been blogging every since.

2. What would you say has been your biggest blogging achievement?
One of my biggest achievements is connecting to all the brands I have been blessed to work with. I also consider all the amazing blogging friends I have met a HUGE accomplishment. I seriously love connecting with other beauty/fashion bloggers. I would consider Beauties On Fire (FB Group) a HUGE accomplishment. I had the idea and never thought it would turn into what it has. I posted a wanted sign and had such a huge response. I have enjoyed every minute of it. We have totally morphed into an amazing support group. I love it!

3. What do you find the hardest about blogging?
Time management. I have a billion ideas and I find it hard to keep on track and keep them all organized. I would totally be lost without Google Cal and Trello to keep me on track. I am terrible at balancing everything and blogging has totally took over my life. I am still trying to find the perfect balance.

4. We all hit a brick wall sometimes when it comes to finding the motivation to write a post, what things personally help you to get back into the swing of things?
I keep lists of post ideas all over my house. I also keep a list of all the compliments I have received. When I am feeling down, unmotivated, or have a lack of direction, I pull out these notebooks and read through the. Within an hour, I am totally motivated again!

5. Do you have or are you thinking of starting a YouTube channel?
I have a channel that only has two videos posted. I just don’t have the time or space to film. I hope to pick it back up one day. YouTube is so much harder than it looks. Editing videos is no joke. I give mad props to all you YouTubers out there!

6. What has been the best piece of blogging advice you’ve received?
To have a niche and be yourself. It is so important to be yourself when you are writing. Honesty will go a long way in keeping your readers. Also, it is really important to have a focus and business plan for your blog. This will help keep you on track. When I first starting blogging, I blogged about everything under the sun. It became so stressful and I never had time to work on the posts I really wanted to write. I have been really focusing my blog on the topics I truly love and know the most about…beauty, subscription boxes, and helping other beauty bloggers.

7. From your own experience, what advice would you give to a newbie blogger?
Wow I could go on forever with this! If you are a newbie blogger and would love to talk, please feel free to email me (alittlebitofeverythingblogs@gmail.com). I always respond to my emails and love to connect! Anyway, I would tell them to experiment in writing. Watch your stats and write about the things your readers truly enjoy. If you are getting a lot of views to one post, that is what you should be writing more of. Listen to your readers and have fun. Also, don’t be ashamed to promote your content. Be proud of what you wrote and share it with the world.

Think about having a specific niche (topic) and a targeted audience. Try not to stray away from your plan/focus.

It is so important to write down your goals for blogging. Think about your end goals/what you want to accomplish by blogging. WRITE THEM DOWN! This will help keep you on track and focused.

Networking is so important. Get out there and make blogging friends…you never know where this could lead. Comment on other blogger’s posts that are in your niche and ALWAYS comment back to your readers.

The list goes on…but those are the main points of advice I would give!

8. Which of your own posts has been your favourite and why? Share a link or two with us!
I really enjoy all the Beauties On Fire theme posts I have written. I also enjoy writing subscription box reviews and testing posts. Here is a couple examples:

http://www.everythingandnothin.com/2016/09/29/fall-beauty-beautiesonfire-link/
http://www.everythingandnothin.com/2016/10/06/easy-halloween-look-beautiesonfire-link/
http://www.everythingandnothin.com/2016/09/22/nineties-beauty-retro/
http://www.everythingandnothin.com/2016/10/02/subscription-product-testing-week-ending-100116/

9. As a reader, what is your idea of a ‘perfect’ blog, what makes you want to continue reading and coming back to a blog time and time again? You may also name a favourite blog if you wish!
I love blogs that are well organized and themed. I take branding seriously. I love when I am on Twitter, Pinterest, IG, etc and see a blogger’s post and know who it is because of their branding. I also love well organized posts. Keep your paragraphs short and include appropriate headings. Use bigger font so that it easier to read. It is hard to keep coming back to a site that is hard to read. You may have the best post ever, but I won’t read it because it hurts my eyes.

krystle

Facebook
Instagram
Pinterest
Tumblr
G+
Bloglovin’

1. Firstly, tell us a little about your blog and what inspired you to start blogging?
My blog is basically a way for me to share my beauty and makeup loves, likes, and dislikes. I love to educate and help people. When it came to makeup when I was younger, I didn’t have a whole lot to go on. Just my Grandma who sold Mary Kay. A lot of my first experiences with makeup was Mary Kay. As I got older, I branched out and discovered M.A.C a whole new world opened for me. I started to play more with makeup and found a new love and talent for it in my early 20’s. I am a firm believer of if you want to do something, don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t. This rings so true to me and close to my heart. I am in a wheelchair due to a brittle bone disease that I was born with. My entire life I have been told by the general public that most of my passions (i.e being a makeup artist) were un-reachable due to my physical limitations. This is something I refused to believe. By the time I was 21, I went for a modelling competition and really wasn’t sure what to think ( i was really there to support a friend who was entering). I filled out the application form and to my surprise, I got a call back. When I went for my first competition, I was so scared and nervous that I honestly don’t remember 90% of what happened. With my family having my back, I pushed through and won the competition! I want to show people that no one can stop you from doing what you love except you. Now, I work with numerous photographers both modelling and doing makeup for photo shoots. I love makeup and helping other’s feel beautiful. There have been so many times in my life where I haven’t. I hope my blog gives inspiration. Remember, true beauty is inside reflected in how we carry ourselves. Always be true to yourself first and follow your dreams.

2. What would you say has been your biggest blogging achievement?
My biggest blogging achievement would have to be when I had some one reach out to me stating that I inspired her to go out and try something different with her makeup. She said that looking through my posts and seeing that I didn’t use a lot of luxury super expensive things it made it easier for her to see that she can do an amazing look without spending a fortune.

3. What do you find the hardest about blogging?
Content. Sometimes I feel that I am repeating things. I don’t want my posts to get boring or too predictable.

4. We all hit a brick wall sometimes when it comes to finding the motivation to write a post, what things personally help you to get back into the swing of things?
I actually went through a time, in the beginning of this year, when I was struggling. A lot of things just seemed to happen all at the same time that sort of broke me down. It was difficult to get back into the swing of things but, with some help from loved ones believing in me, I was able to come back stronger than ever! Sometimes, I like to go to different stores both physically and online and see what’s out there. Reading different blogs and vlogs help to get that motivation going.

5. Do you have or are you thinking of starting a YouTube channel?
Currently, I have a YouTube channel where I tend to share videos. I haven’t posted videos yet, however, my plan in 2017 is to start.

6. What has been the best piece of blogging advice you’ve received?
Three simple words ” Never give up”

7. From your own experience, what advice would you give to a newbie blogger?
It can be overwhelming at times. The best advice I could give would be; write yourself a schedule of what you would like to write about.I have a monthly calendar where I write the subject of my post that way I am not trying to think of something last minute. Schedule posts out in the future, I like to schedule mine up to a week out. This will make it less stressful for you on the day of. Be honest, be real, be human. Don’t be afraid to make fun of yourself or get super excited. Write something you would want to read.

8. Which of your own posts has been your favourite and why? Share a link or two with us!
Since I work a lot with Photographers, I love my Behind The Scenes posts. My most recent is a BTS of a Harley Quinn Shoot that I was part of with Street Scenes Photography. Another of my favourites and probably my most fun was my Ride or Die Makeup Challenge.

9. As a reader, what is your idea of a ‘perfect’ blog, what makes you want to continue reading and coming back to a blog time and time again? You may also name a favourite blog if you wish!
Something I look at when reading other blogs is reader/viewer interaction. I want to feel like I am reading something from a life long friend not a sales person. I want an honest opinion on a product and not someone just trying to sell me something. I enjoy bloggers who can have a moment for a laugh or some completely girlie reaction because they are super excited to tell you something.

kate

Twitter (@skintuition_)
Instagram (@skintuition_bb)
Facebook (@skintuitionbeautyblog)
Blog (Skintuition)

1. Firstly, tell us a little about your blog and what inspired you to start blogging?
My blog is primarily a Korean skincare blog that covers everything from example routines to the latest product reviews. There are also some beauty/makeup tutorial posts in there too!
I primarily started blogging as a way to connect with others who enjoy this niche of skincare (which is very, very small), and also as a creative outlet.

2. What would you say has been your biggest blogging achievement?
This is going to say too much about me, but sticking with it for more than a month…and regularly too! The creation of this blog was not a long, thought out one and we all know how quick the lifespan of those sorts of projects can be!

3. What do you find the hardest about blogging?
I think the hardest thing is a tie between sticking to publishing quality content on a regular schedule and not getting discouraged by comparing your blog to others…ESPECIALLY when starting out and/or writing for a small niche audience.

4. We all hit a brick wall sometimes when it comes to finding the motivation to write a post, what things personally help you to get back into the swing of things?
Personally, I keep a big long list of potential post topics on my phone, and I generally turn to that for a creativity boost when inspiration runs dry. Sometimes it can also help to search your blog’s main posting topics on the web and see what pops up. You’ll never know what you might find!

5. Do you have or are you thinking of starting a YouTube channel?
I originally wanted to do YouTube instead of a blog, but didn’t have a proper camera at the time. Given my discovered hate for both photography and taking pictures of my face through blogging, it was probably a stroke of luck I went the blog route instead. I can barely bring myself to edit a photo, let alone an entire video (with my face in it no less!)

6. What has been the best piece of blogging advice you’ve received?
It’s cheesy, but don’t compare yourself to others. Just keep on doing you and blog about what makes you happy 🙂

7. From your own experience, what advice would you give to a newbie blogger?
While it is true that newer bloggers can play around more with their subject matter and such, the sooner someone can find their niche(s) and start publishing regular, quality content on said subject(s), the sooner they will have a solid, reoccurring audience. Become a master of your subject matter.

8. Which of your own posts has been your favourite and why? Share a link or two with us!
I’m part of a fantastic blogging collaboration called Beauties on Fire. Many of the collaborators participate in weekly themed posts and having a set topic I sort of have to blog about, really pushes me in terms of creativity.
I love this collab post because it combines two of my biggest loves: fall and skincare! I got to nerd out a little with cold weather skincare basics, then come up with a sample routine from my own stash of products!
https://skintuitionbeautyblog.wordpress.com/2016/09/30/top-5-essential-fall-skincare-productsmy-sample-fall-skin-routine/

This is probably my most “beauty-blog-esque” post on my blog. It was a major milestone for me as I was more than my usual 10% okay with the pictures I took for it. I had also never done a beauty post before either. It was sort of scary tbh!
https://skintuitionbeautyblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/benefit-highlighter-mini-kit-review/

9. As a reader, what is your idea of a ‘perfect’ blog, what makes you want to continue reading and coming back to a blog time and time again? You may also name a favourite blog if you wish!
For me, I want what I can’t (seem to) have: gorgeous photos. My idea of a perfect blog has a smooth, well-running site with an aesthetically pleasing lay-out, gorgeous pictures, pretty fonts, and of course, a large body of helpful, informative, and entertaining posts written with a unique, well-developed voice.
The more regularly a particular blog posts, the more I’ll be back to it to read said new posts. I’m not so interested in the one paragraph “recap of my IG account this month” type posts, but the ones that help in some way and have had obvious time and effort put into them. A wishlist post? Tell me why you want them (so I can know why I might want them too). Product review? I want to see proof you actually tested it for more than a day so I know if I can trust the verdict. At the end of the day, if the blogger cares more about their audience, the audience will care more about them/their blog and keep coming back for more 🙂 No regular “fluff” content.



That’s all for today, if you have any questions yourself then please leave them in the comments below, I’m sure Elisabeth, Krystle and Kate wouldn’t be opposed to answering anything further, either. Be sure to follow them on the social media platforms provided and check out their fantastic blogs. Here’s to another year of Disaster Davis and thank you so much to the ladies involved, you’re all amazing. ❤



With Love,
Disaster Davis x

| Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |
| YouTube | Bloglovin’ | Feedly |
Add me on Snapchat: Disaster_Davis

13 thoughts on “Celebrating one year of Disaster Davis: Blogger Interview

Leave a Reply

